I don’t know if there is any father out there who has moved mountains for his daughter. I was lucky to have a father like my father. His love for me was crazy. “Is my saree alright? Have I draped it properly? Should I tuck  pleats a tad higher? Do you like this dress? Should I change into another?” I never asked these questions to my Aai. Baba was always my go-to person. I post this picture now because there is a fond memory associated with it. I was six months pregnant when I was operated. It all happened so quickly we were given no time to think. The situation was worrisome.This picture was taken post my operation. I wanted to have a memory of my first pregnancy so I asked my parents to help me drape this saree. While my Aai held me, Baba put the pleats in place and pinned up the pallu, when I was ready he saw me through tears in his eyes and asked my brother to click this picture. Will any father do that? Perhaps. But mine made sure I always had everything that I wanted. I was his Princess and he gave me a life like one. I have no shame to say that I grew up in his shadow and now, I don’t know how to survive.  But I will just have to…

